Is Awareness Enough?

Awareness (noun): knowledge that something exists.. (Cambridge Dictionary)

Its October. There is pink. There is lots and lots of pink.

It is wonderful that people want to acknowledge the breast cancer epidemic. Its absolutely heartwarming when people wear it to support someone dear to them! But is awareness enough?  If all we do is acknowledge cancers existence, does that help anything?

I think its a good start.  I think a good job has been done to bring awareness to just how big of a problem breast cancer is.  But now its time take it further. We need education and hopefully from education, eventually a cure!

knowing isn't enough

Last year our boys were involved in 4-H (our younger son still is) and as part of their focus on the community, as a group we raised funds and walked at the American Cancer Societies, Making Strides Against Breast Cancer on the Cape.  It was a wonderful day of supporting those still fighting, the survivors and to remember those whose lives were cut short due to cancer.  There was pink!  Boy was there pink!  I rocked the pink myself!

But even after the walk, I still felt like, ‘have we done enough to educate these kids?’

4-H is big on encouraging kids to research things that interest them and give visual presentations (helping them to gain confidence in themselves and their ability to speak in public).  After watching most of the kids in our group give their presentations, I thought, why don’t I give a presentation on breast cancer?

So the next month, I gave a visual presentation and taught the kids about breast cancer and shared my experience in a manner that was appropriate for the ages of the kids in our club.  The children were so engaged and listened and participated in the discussion. It wasn’t over their heads and nor did it frighten them.

As I see pink everywhere over the last few weeks, I keep thinking – this is great! – but have they been educated? I am wondering if this might be something I could help with.

I am not a medical professional.  I am a breast cancer survivor.

Do you have a group (sports team, youth group, women’s fellowship ministry, etc..) that would benefit from learning more about breast cancer?  Are you ready to see your group go from just being aware to being informed?  Feel welcome to contact me – or contact a medical professional to equip you with knowledge.

Don’t just be aware. Be educated!

And pray for a cure!! (for all cancer!!)

 

And now for something fun…

no Belle

Please Leave a Reply